Materials Transactions Online

Materials Transactions, Vol.47 No.03 (2006) pp.496-500
© 2006 The Japan Institute of Metals

Magnetic Properties of Weak Itinerant Electron Ferromagnet CoVSb

Takeshi Kanomata1, Toshiyuki Igarashi2,, Hironori Nishihara3, Keiichi Koyama2, Kazuo Watanabe2, Klaus -U. Neumann4 and Kurt R. A. Ziebeck4

1Faculty of Engineering, Tohoku Gakuin University, Tagajo 985-8537, Japan
2Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University, Sendai 980-8577, Japan
3Faculty of Science and Technology, Ryukoku University, Otsu 520-2194, Japan
4Physics Department, Loughborough University, Leicestershire LE11 3TU, UK

Precise magnetization measurements have been made on the weak itinerant electron ferromagnet CoVSb. The magnetic moment at 4.2 K and the Curie temperature TC are 0.16 μB/f.u. and 45 K, respectively. Below 10 K, the decrease in the square of the spontaneous magnetization Ms(T)2 is proportional to T2. However, over a wide temperature range from 24 K to the Curie temperature, the decrease in Ms(T)2 is proportional to T4/3. The results obtained are analyzed using spin fluctuation theory.

(Received 2005/9/14; Accepted 2005/12/9; Published 2006/3/15)

Keywords: itinerant electron ferromagnet, spin fluctuation, half-Heusler compound

PDF(Free)PDF (Free) Table of ContentsTable of Contents


  1. K. Kaczmarska, J. Pierre, J. Beille, J. Tobola, R.V. Skolozdra and G. A. Melnik: J. Magn. Magn. Mater. 187 (1998) 210–220.
  2. S. Ishida, T. Masaki, S. Fujii and S. Asano: Physica B 239 (1997) 163–166.
  3. J. Tobola, J. Pierre, S. Kaprzyk, R. V. Skolozdra and M. A. Kouacou: J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 10 (1998) 1013–1032.
  4. I. Galanakis, P. H. Dederichs and N. Papanikolaou: Phys. Rev. B 66 (2002) 134428.
  5. B. R. K. Nanda and I. Dasgupta: J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 15 (2003) 7307–7323.
  6. M. Terada, K. Endo, Y. Fujita, T. Ohoyama and R. Kimura: J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 29 (1970) 1091.
  7. M. Terada, K. Endo, Y. Fujita and R. Kimura: J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 32 (1972) 91–94.
  8. L. Heyne, T. Igarashi, T. Kanomata, K.-U. Neumann, B. Ouladdiaf and K. R. A. Ziebeck: J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 17 (2005) 4991–4999.
  9. Y. Takahashi: J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 55 (1986) 3553–3573.
  10. Y. Takahashi: J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 13 (2001) 6323–6358.
  11. K. Shimizu, H. Maruyama, H. Yamazaki and H. Watanabe: J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 59 (1990) 305–318.
  12. C. Thessieu, K. Kamishima, T. Goto and G. Lapertot: J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 67 (1998) 3605–3609.
  13. K. Koyama, H. Sasaki, T. Kanomata, K. Watanabe and M. Motokawa: Physica B 329–333 (2003) 1121–1122.
  14. K. Koyama, H. Sasaki, T. Kanomata, K. Watanabe and M. Motokawa: J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 72 (2003) 767–768.
  15. T. Sasaki, T. Kanomata, T. Narita, H. Nishihara, R. Note, H. Yoshida and T. Kaneko: J. Alloys Compd. 317–318 (2001) 406–410.
  16. T. Kanomata, T. Sasaki, H. Nishihara, H. Yoshida, T. Kaneko, S. Hane, T. Goto, N. Takeishi and S. Ishida: J. Alloys Compd. 393 (2005) 26–33.
  17. Y. Takahashi: private communication.


© 2002 The Japan Institute of Metals
Comments to us :