Materials Transactions Online

Materials Transactions, Vol.58 No.02 (2017) pp.231-235
© 2017 The Japan Institute of Metals and Materials

Microstructure of Erbium Oxide Thin Film on SUS316 Substrate with Y2O3 or CeO2 Buffer Layers Formed by MOCVD Method

Seungwon Lee1, Takayuki Shinkawa2, Kenji Matsuda1, Masaki Tanaka3, Yoshimitsu Hishinuma3, Katsuhiko Nishimura1, Teruya Tanaka3, Takeo Muroga3 and Takahiro Sato4

1Graduate School of Science and Engineering for Research, University of Toyama, Toyama 930-8555, Japan
2Graduate School of Science and Engineering for Education, University of Toyama, Toyama 930-8555, Japan
3National Institute of Fusion Science, Toki, 509-5292, Japan
4Hitachi High-Technologies Corp., Hitachinaka, 312-0057, Japan

Er2O3 has been known the best candidate material for insulating coating for liquid metal breeding blanket system. The formation of Er2O3 layer by MOCVD method can be succeeded on SUS316 substrate with CeO2 and Y2O3 buffer layers (100 nm and 500 nm) fabricated by RF sputtering, and their microstructures have been confirmed by SEM, TEM and STEM. The surface morphology of their layers was smaller granular structure than the previous study without buffer layer. According to cross sectional TEM (X-TEM) observation, Er2O3, CeO2/Y2O3 buffer, unknown layers and SUS substrate can be confirmed. CeO2 buffer layer has a granular structure, while Y2O3 has a columnar structure. Er2O3 layer formed on each buffer layer had finer structure without buffer layer. It has been also detected that each element does not exist so much in each layer by diffusion during fabrication according to STEM-EDS and HAADF imaging.


(Received 2016/09/05; Accepted 2016/11/28; Published 2017/01/25)

Keywords: erbium oxide, buffer layers, metal organic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD), microstructure, transmission electron microscopy

PDF(member)PDF (member) PDF(organization)PDF (organization) Order DocumentOrder Document Table of ContentsTable of Contents


  1. B.A. Pint, P.F. Tortorelli, A. Jankowski, J. Hayes, T. Muroga, A. Suzuki and O.I. Yeliseyeva: J. Nucl. Mater. 329-333 (2004) 119-124.
  2. Y. Hishinuma, S. Murakami, K. Matsuda, T. Tanaka, Y. Tasaki, T. Nagasaka, A. Sagawa and T. Muroga: Plasma & Fusion Research 7 (2012) 2405127-1-2405127-4.
  3. T. Shikawa, K. Matsuda, Y. Hishinuma, K. Nishimura, T. Tanaka, T. Muroga and T. Sato: Mater. Trans. 55 (2014) 1781-1785.
  4. H. Zhang, J. Yang, H. Liu and S. Wang: Physica C 470 (2010) 1998-2001.
  5. Y. Hishinuma, T. Tanaka, T. Shinkawa, S. Murakami, K. Matsuda, T. Watanabe, T. Nagasaka, A. Sagara and T. Muroga: Fusion Sci. Tech. (Paris) 66 (2014) 221-227.
  6. JCPDS (Y2O3)00-005-0574, (Er2O3)00-008-0050, (CeO2)34-0394.


© 2017 The Japan Institute of Metals and Materials
Comments to us :